Chicago bound and my final race weight recap!

It’s time. It’s Chicago Marathon time! In only a few hours I will be on board a plane to Chicago for the largest marathon I will probably ever run. I am pretty excited about running this huge race. I mean, its probably the only big city race I will ever run. I will never qualify for Boston, and what are the chances I’d win the lottery at NYC. So Chicago is about it.

MTC1 – Akron Marathon

In preparation for this big day, I made the decision to NOT gain weight during this training cycle. Also known as Marathon Training Cycle 3 (MTC3). I gained weight after my first few half marathons and when I trained for my first full, I saw it as my big chance to lose the pounds. Um, yeah, didn’t happen.

During MTC1, I didn’t lose a single pound. Not one. So I tried again during my second round of marathon training but with far less gumption than before. And guess what, I didn’t lose any weight then either.

Surprise! You actually have to WORK at that kind of thing.

MTC2 – Toledo Glass City

So, I committed to making things right during MTC3 and rejoined weight watchers 14 weeks ago. Due to travel to Red Bank, Baltimore and then West Virginia, I missed 2 weigh ins. And therefore, failed to report anything. Sorry. Sometimes life gets in the way.

But tonight I had my final “Race Weight” weigh in. My goal on race day was to have lost 10 pounds. That is totally do able in 14 weeks. But insanely hard for a runner. I mean, I eat a lot before and after long runs and often did not track my food intake during these extra long run days. Not to mention that on long runs I actually ingest calories as I run. It’s hard to burn calories when you are pumping them back in while in the act of cardio. The life of a marathon runner I guess.

But without further adieu, my final results:

Today’s weigh-in: Down 1.4 pounds (should have been way more given I missed two weeks)

Total loss during training = 8.4lbs. 

I would have liked to see that 10 pounds. I would have loved to see even more. But I guess given my marathon training, I am just glad I was able to lose anything. I hear fellow runners say all the time how they gained or maintained. So I think I beat some odds here.

(This is how I feel sometimes. It made me chuckle.) 

With my training at its best and 8 pounds down, I think I am doing pretty good. I feel fit, I feel faster, I feel like I am going to have a good race. Do I feel totally awesome going into this doosey of a marathon? No. But I never do. I am always a little nervous.

From what I have been hearing, its going to be cold on Sunday at the start of the race. Like, in the 30’s cold. So I am struggling with what to wear. I just hope that no matter what happens, it ends up getting a little warmer as the race wears on.

Friday I’ll hit the expo and the use Saturday to maybe check out the sights. Hopefully without tiring my legs to much. Saturday night will be pasta dinner and then Sunday after the race will be a fun-free for all, depending on how tired I am . I am assuming I will be pretty tired. But we will see.

I will be checking in, promise.

Good luck to anyone running this weekend! And good luck to my NEO Fit friends running and working the Towpath Marathon on Saturday! 

This entry was posted in Diet and exercise, Marathon, Race Weight Recap, Running and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Chicago bound and my final race weight recap!

  1. Dianne says:

    You look great!! congratulations!! Enjoy the run!!

  2. Jina says:

    I’ve loved following your running journey. You are going to rock this race! And, congratulations on the weight you loss! Believe me, I know how difficult it is to lose weight when training. I think you did awesome!

  3. poiseinparma says:

    Get those 26.2 miles, girl! So excited for you. Can’t wait to read all about it. Enjoy the experience!

  4. Suegene W says:

    You are going to have a GREAT RACE!!!!! Have fun and ENJOY THE RIDE!!!

  5. I will start shouting GRANT and LAURA in my start corral, I will let you know if anyone answers! Thanks for the encouragement, I will let you know how it goes!

  6. KTOinCLE says:

    SO EXCITED AND PROUD OF YOU. Julie, seriously, you look great! It’s not about the numbers, it’s about how you feel. You’re going to kick Chicago’s butt, look for my friends Grant and Laura! Just kidding, I know there will be a ton of people. I’ll be thinking of you, can’t wait to hear about it!!!!

Got something to say about it? I wanna hear it!

