Skillet Tuna Noodle Casserole: My first ever recipe post!

Didn’t I say I wanted to try and cook more? Cook healthy things? Redefine how I feed myself? I think I did in this post, and I certainly did not delay.

Thanks to an email from one of my favorite food magazines, Eating Well!

This weeks email was fall casseroles made healthy. So I clicked on a couple to see what it was all about. Given the fact that I have not been eating meat for sometime now (for the love of the cow, not dietary reasons), I checked out the veggie and fish (yes, still eat fish) based casseroles, just to see what was up. And I found the recipe for a Tuna Noodle Casserole.

Tuna noodle casserole tends to be made with canned soup and whole milk, which means high fat and sodium. In this recipe, a sort of homemade mushroom soup is created using mushrooms, non-fat milk, and a little flour to thicken it up. I used whole wheat egg noodles and gave it a try.

What You’ll Need: 

  • 8 ounces whole-wheat egg noodles
  • 1 tablespoon extra-virgin olive oil
  • 1 medium onion, finely chopped
  • 8 ounces mushrooms, sliced
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt
  • 1/2 cup dry white wine
  • 6 tablespoons all-purpose flour
  • 3 cups nonfat milk
  • 1/2 teaspoon freshly ground pepper
  • 12 ounces canned chunk light tuna drained
  • 1 cup frozen peas, thawed
  • 1 cup finely grated Parmesan cheese, divided
  • 1/2 cup coarse dry whole-wheat breadcrumbs

In a large pot bring water to a boil and toss in noodles and cook till tender. Takes about 8 – 10 minutes or so. Maybe a little less depending. I was able to find the whole wheat egg noodles at Giant Eagle, but not without some digging.

Position oven rack in upper 3rd of the oven and preheat to broil.

Heat oil in a large ovenproof skillet over medium-high heat. Add onion, mushrooms and salt and cook, stirring often, until the onion is softened but not browned, about 5 minutes. I got distracted by a screaming smoke detector and might have left them on to long. So be mindful of the veggies.

Add wine and cook until evaporated, 4 to 5 minutes. Sprinkle flour over the vegetables; stir to coat. It starts to look a little gross at this point, but trust me, it will all turn out ok.

Add milk and pepper and bring to a simmer, stirring constantly. After that, toss in your drained tuna. I used one 12oz can. Some readers said they preferred more tuna, I thought 12oz was just enough.

Throw in your peas and 1/2 cup Parmesan until evenly incorporated. Then, stir in the noodles, the pan will be really full and heavy. Remove from the heat.

Sprinkle the casserole with breadcrumbs and the remaining 1/2 cup Parmesan. Broil until bubbly and lightly browned on top, 3 to 4 minutes. The whole wheat bread crumbs was the only thing that I couldn’t find. I think Giant Eagle was picked over, so next time I will try another market.

I let it sit for just a couple minutes before serving some out and it was really good. Who knew I could cook something like this?

Nutrition Per serving (had you used whole wheat bread crumbs): 406 calories; 8 g fat ( 3 g sat , 3 g mono ); 53 mg cholesterol; 47 g carbohydrates; 32 g protein;5 g fiber; 684 mg sodium; 593 mg potassium.

I even drank some of the wine with my meal when I was finished. Totally worth it. You might want to play with a few spices, as I found it to be a little on the bland side. I added some salt and pepper and was fine, but maybe you are more creative than I… or actually have spices to try.

An added bonus, it reheats well also!

I reheated some last night for dinner and other than being a little dry, it was still really good. Only this time I paired it with a little bit of a romaine mixture and a dollop of my own Ranch mix. I learned at FitBloggin’ that you can mix a packet of Hidden Valley Ranch dip powder stuff with 16oz of plain Greek yogurt to make a good ranch dip.

And it was good. I am loving this Greek Yogurt business these days!

If you’re a casserole person, get more Fall casserole ideas here.

Enjoy!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Skillet Tuna Noodle Casserole: My first ever recipe post!

  1. Pingback: Link It Up: Must Read Posts on 10.12.2012 | poise in parma

Got something to say about it? I wanna hear it!

